Science Expeditions – A Kit from Little Passports {Review}

This post contains affiliate links.

Little Passports have been bringing the joy of world geography through monthly subscription boxes for a few years now. Now, they offer a new kind of learning experience with their Science Expeditions monthly kit.

We got to try out the first kit. It kit arrived in our mailbox in a specially marked box. Inside was a zippered bag to store your stuff in, along with special things you will need to do the experiments (including instructions!)

This first month was all about Forensic Science. First, you need to read the fun, full-coloured comic book about Sofia and Sam – the two young people who are from the Little Passports adventures but this time are doing some power of observations to put some clues together to figure out where their aunt has disappeared to. The back of the story has several pages of activities (like learning to recognized forged handwriting and learning how to case a crime scene) and a glossary to help with relevant words.

Then it’s science time.

Science Expeditions - a monthly science subscription box

This forensic science-themed kit has 3 awesome experiments: extracting DNA from a strawberry, investigating fingerprints, and studying splatters. Materials are clearly marked – making it quick to grab what you need from your pantry and household supplies. The estimated time to complete these three projects is about 2 hours.

One of the neatest thing that is included in this kit is the Lab Notebook. The inside is filled with grid paper pages for experiment notes and observations. There is plenty of space for anything you are working on – and probably even some experiments of your own. In the front is a dedicated space with 12 hexagons where you stick your monthly achievement badges to show what you’ve finished. I love this because it gets the kids excited to do their experiments and earn their badges.

I decided to test out the kit with my 9-year-old boy. He has recently decided that he would like to be a scientist when he grows up, so any opportunity to do anything scientific is exciting for him. We started with the

We started with the fingerprinting because the supplies were all included and it was simple to do. It was actually a lot of fun to look at all our fingerprints and compare how similar and different we were. This particular project ended up with many of the other kids because they were fascinated. A page of scrap paper of printing tests later, we were ready to try the real prints on the analysis page.

Next, we set up the kitchen for some blood spatters (made of paint… not real blood). My little scientist grabbed his homemade lab coat and safety goggles, set everything up, and excited prepped his lab observation book. The spatters experiment was really fun to do together. Together we tested blood splats from all different heights and what they looked like. The boy diligently wrote his observations in his lab book and we discussed our findings together.

The last experiment that we did was the DNA extraction. The materials list calls for a couple of things we didn’t have around the house: strawberries and rubbing alcohol. It’s off-season for berries, so we ended up needing to go to two different stores before we found some. Later, while reading through the instructions, we learned that you can use many other kinds of fruit instead (however, strawberries have the best DNA). We bought strawberries and raspberries to try them both and see what would happen.

The instructions were easy to follow, making this experiment so fun. We watched our test tubes in anticipation. The strawberry turned out phenomenally – the DNA looked like a cloud of white blobbiness and when we gently pulled it out of the tube with the pencil, it resembled something like some clear snot. It was so amazing to know we were looking at the building blocks of a strawberry! The raspberry one, however, looked like nothing had happened. We decided to stick a pencil in any way and see what happened. There were teeny tiny little almost invisible strands in there. Apparently, you can do this experiment with lots of different items, including your cheek cells! Seeing your own DNA would be incredibly fascinating.

Strawberry DNA experiment results from Science Expeditions

I asked the boy what his thoughts were about this kit and his very concise answer was “I love it.” He liked that the instructions were clear, that it came with an awesome lab notebook, and that all the not-likely-to-be-in-your-house supplies came with it. He loves the bag to keep all his stuff in, too.

This kit is a lot of fun. Designed for kids ages 9 and up, it’s a great way to encourage a love of science by providing interesting, hands-on experiments.

Find out more at the Little Passports website.

64 Comment(s)

  • by Joan Posted November 24, 2016 7:22 am

    Great review, thanks!

  • by Patricia Posted March 15, 2017 9:35 am

    Thank you so much for such a great review ! I’m hoping to try it out with my girls!

  • by Tara Klassen Posted March 15, 2017 9:35 am

    My kids would love this!

  • by Sue Posted March 15, 2017 9:36 am

    Love this review

  • by Jami MacKay Posted March 15, 2017 9:36 am

    My kids love walking water experiments using different colours!

  • by CARA Posted March 15, 2017 9:40 am

    This is great! My kids love science. My sons fav experiment so far would be anything to do with circuits!

  • by Ameirah Taha Posted March 15, 2017 9:42 am

    She loved using mirrors. Colour half a picture then put mirror up to see the whole thing. We did like 4 pages of half pictures. Thanks she loves science

  • by Becky Posted March 15, 2017 9:43 am

    This looks very interesting. My kids love science experiments

  • by Lisa Bankey Posted March 15, 2017 9:44 am

    I would LOVE to win this. My boys LOVE science as well. So the more science the better! Thank you for the wonderful review and the opportunity to win!

  • by Linda Posted March 15, 2017 9:51 am

    Great!! Thanks!

  • by Sandra M. Posted March 15, 2017 9:54 am

    So thrilled to have these new kits! And right on time Thanks for informing us about it and for the chance to win the first kit!

  • by Jillian Dueck Posted March 15, 2017 9:54 am

    We’re starting homeschooling this year and I wanted to get a subscription to Little Passports! This science one looks like such fun!

  • by Alison Posted March 15, 2017 9:59 am

    I’ve been curious about Little Passports (and other subscription boxes). They sound like so much fun (and easy for mama!)

  • by Jenn Posted March 15, 2017 10:02 am

    Fun!

  • by Carly s Posted March 15, 2017 10:02 am

    My son loves color mixing and making volcanoes!

  • by Darlene Hopson Posted March 15, 2017 10:10 am

    My grand-daughter was very excited when she made a volcano and it worked.

  • by Jayson Tench Posted March 15, 2017 10:11 am

    this looks awesome

  • by Kat Posted March 15, 2017 10:14 am

    My son’s favourite experiment was watching eggs immersed in different solutions to see which would “dissolve” first. The vinegar left no hard outer shell but still held together in a sort of rubberlike state.

  • by Jennifer Posted March 15, 2017 10:14 am

    I would love to try this! We love chemical reactions!

  • by Sara Posted March 15, 2017 10:30 am

    My boys had fun learning how to plant seeds and what melts ice the fastest.

  • by Adeline Posted March 15, 2017 10:33 am

    Chemical reactions!

  • by Jen Posted March 15, 2017 10:42 am

    my boys had fun doing experiments about air last month. Learning about pressure and air flow, etc. My 8 yr old is always making up his own to do in his “lab”! 🙂

  • by Andrea Veldkamp Posted March 15, 2017 11:00 am

    We loved extracting DNA from strawberries!

  • by Tricia Posted March 15, 2017 11:15 am

    So far this year their favorite science experiment is seeing how food breaks down.

  • by Karen Posted March 15, 2017 11:43 am

    Making the volcano explode is always fun!

  • by Karen Posted March 15, 2017 11:46 am

    thanks for the review!

  • by Jennifer Posted March 15, 2017 12:00 pm

    My son loves hands on learning , i think his favorite was erupting a volcano until his lego men were swept away in a frothy red sea of “lava”

  • by Jen Schneider Posted March 15, 2017 12:08 pm

    Can’t wait to try more experiments!
    Love this!

  • by Fay Posted March 15, 2017 1:00 pm

    My daughter loves science. We recently did the volcano project.

  • by Tara Posted March 15, 2017 1:11 pm

    My girls will love this!! I think the blood splatter experiment will have them thrilled!

  • by Sonja joel reed Posted March 15, 2017 7:29 pm

    My son loves lava lamp experiments

  • by Candace Posted March 15, 2017 9:32 pm

    My boys love experimenting, their favourite so far had been growing crystals.

  • by Sunshine H Posted March 15, 2017 10:44 pm

    Last year, we did the mentos in a bottle of pop. To say the least, it’s still talked about regularly.

  • by Candice Robertson Posted March 16, 2017 4:30 am

    My kids love Things having to do with Gravity, Mass and Volume!!

  • by Dayna Posted March 16, 2017 7:57 am

    For years now my kid’s favorite science experiment has been “Oobleck”. They can’t get enough! Thanks for the great review, I’ve been wondering about this kit. 🙂

  • by Samantha Levesque Posted March 16, 2017 8:21 am

    I’ve been wanting to try this out for a while now and this woukd be a great opportunity!

  • by claudia Posted March 16, 2017 8:47 am

    usually all of our science is nature related.

  • by christina young Posted March 16, 2017 8:53 am

    my kids love anything to do with bugs!

  • by Bryn Posted March 16, 2017 9:15 am

    Have been looking into little passports for a while now! Very exciting that they now offer science kits! My daughter just this morning said she’s like to try tracking animals using fine powder to see the footprints they leave on different surfaces!

  • by Allison Posted March 16, 2017 9:46 am

    This kit looks great!

  • by annette @ A net in Time Posted March 16, 2017 10:15 am

    would be great to try one of these out

  • by Vanessa C Posted March 16, 2017 10:19 am

    Thanks for the opportunity! My kids have loved anything to do with chemical reactions!

  • by Prudence Kaufman Posted March 16, 2017 10:37 am

    I would really appreciate this set. I’ve never tried Little Passports before and am curious.

  • by Suzanne Filz Posted March 16, 2017 10:37 am

    My daughters always love Borex experiments where we can make crystals form on pipe cleaners They are biting at the bit to get their hands on Little passports science kits

  • by Vanessa C Posted March 16, 2017 11:02 am

    Thanks for the opportunity! My kids love chemical reactions…baking soda and vinegar!

  • by Carley Navratil Posted March 16, 2017 11:15 am

    Our favorite science experiments are anything that has a chemical reaction! These Little Passports experiments look so fun!

  • by Jenn L Posted March 16, 2017 11:33 am

    What has been your kid’s favourite science experiment? It’s hard to choose a favourite, but my son has loved making simple machines out of his Lego.

  • by Nadine Posted March 16, 2017 11:37 am

    Anything with food colouring is my daughter’s favourite!

  • by Sue Posted March 16, 2017 11:56 am

    Egg drop challenge 🙂

  • by Sarah De Diego Posted March 16, 2017 3:31 pm

    My two 7-year-olds like anything to do with physics and geology. Thanks for giving.
    Besos Sarah

  • by Sabrina Tong Posted March 16, 2017 4:31 pm

    My daughter loved the Skittles experiment and the groovy milk experiment.

  • by Marsha Posted March 16, 2017 4:32 pm

    My daughter loves making volcanoes.

  • by Dana Ogle Posted March 16, 2017 5:32 pm

    My kids’ favorite experiment so far has been growing crystals and ‘walking’ water. This is such a great giveaway!

  • by Monique L.S. Posted March 16, 2017 10:54 pm

    My daughter enjoys creating new colours by mixing colours together.

  • by Anita Posted March 17, 2017 8:56 pm

    Making slime

  • by Rebecca S. Posted March 17, 2017 10:54 pm

    I’d love to try these with my daughter! Thank you!

  • by Chantal Posted March 20, 2017 9:10 am

    This would be great .Thanks

  • by Shelby Henry Posted March 20, 2017 10:52 am

    Love this idea! My girls (8&7) love anything hands-on to do with science, though the best thing so far has been to buy them a microscope. They are always checking out things they find around the house and yard!

  • by Christine Wiebe Posted March 21, 2017 8:51 am

    My daughter has loved any and all experiments involving Chemistry!

  • by Cindy Hardy Posted March 21, 2017 11:24 am

    My children enjoy science experiments. Our volcano experiment was a big hit. This would be a fun set to win.

  • by Christine Posted March 21, 2017 7:58 pm

    Thank you for the review!

  • by Lorraine Posted March 22, 2017 12:01 am

    My son loves all science experiments, but his go to one is vinegar and baking soda!

  • by Sheryl Posted March 22, 2017 9:48 am

    Second great review I’ve seen on this set – my daughter is very interested, as well. She really enjoys experiments with fire (!) and carbon dioxide.

  • by Joyce Posted March 24, 2017 8:20 pm

    My kids’ favourite science experiment was seeing how long it took for snow to become water, and which froze faster – hot water, cold water, water with salt.

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *